sK1 Project :: OpenSource Solutions for Prepress
View Thread
 Print Thread
Can't import cdr file
frankmarshall
#1 Print Post
Posted on 28-10-2009 19:08
Member

Posts: 1
Joined: 28.10.09

Hi, i've just install sk1 because I want to do a full migration to Ubuntu.

My problem is a cdr file in particular: when i try to import/open it, the progress get stuck in

"File Importing
Parsing is finished."

and the progress bar stops there (around 10% of the progress)

I've tried from a konsole, and that's what I get:

hared memory images supported
Cairo initialized!
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 683, in Load
self.info.process_properties()
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 260, in process_properties
self.process_paths(chunk)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 342, in process_paths
self.loda_type_func[argtype](chunk,type,offset,cdr_version,trafo)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 495, in loda_coords
self.extract_bmp(numbmp,width,height)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 377, in extract_bmp
self.extracted_image = PIL.Image.fromstring('L', (width, height), self.bmpbuf, 'raw', 'L', bytes, -1)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/PIL/Image.py", line 1745, in fromstring
im.fromstring(data, decoder_name, args)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/PIL/Image.py", line 576, in fromstring
raise ValueError("not enough image data"Wink
ValueError: not enough image data
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/UI/command.py", line 49, in Invoke
apply(self.get_method(self.command), self.args + args)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/UI/mainwindow.py", line 698, in InsertFile
self.docmanager.ImportVector(filename)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/managers/docmanager.py", line 217, in ImportVector
doc=dlg.RunDialog(self.import_callback, filename)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/UI/dialogs/progressdialog.py", line 50, in RunDialog
result=callback(arg)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/managers/docmanager.py", line 243, in import_callback
doc = load.load_drawing(filename)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/io/load.py", line 373, in load_drawing
return load_drawing_from_file(file, filename)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/io/load.py", line 346, in load_drawing_from_file
doc = loader.Load()
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 683, in Load
self.info.process_properties()
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 260, in process_properties
self.process_paths(chunk)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 342, in process_paths
self.loda_type_func[argtype](chunk,type,offset,cdr_version,trafo)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 495, in loda_coords
self.extract_bmp(numbmp,width,height)
File "/usr/local/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/sk1/app/plugins/Filters/cdrloader.py", line 377, in extract_bmp
self.extracted_image = PIL.Image.fromstring('L', (width, height), self.bmpbuf, 'raw', 'L', bytes, -1)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/PIL/Image.py", line 1745, in fromstring
im.fromstring(data, decoder_name, args)
File "/usr/lib/python2.6/dist-packages/PIL/Image.py", line 576, in fromstring
raise ValueError("not enough image data"Wink
ValueError: not enough image data



Any ideas?
Thanks!
 
cbbdesignstudio.com.ar
igor
#2 Print Post
Posted on 28-10-2009 21:14
User Avatar

Super Administrator

Posts: 220
Joined: 09.02.09

Hi!

It seems the problem cause is embedded grayscale bitmap in your CDR file. Usually such bitmaps are imported correctly. I would appreciate if you will provide us an example of such CDR file. We could to investigate the issue and prepare fix for this problem.
Regards,

Igor Novikov
sK1 Project
 
rinus
#3 Print Post
Posted on 28-02-2010 17:03
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 28.02.10

I just installed SK1 and trying to open a CDR-file.
But I'm receiving this message:

An error occured
unrecognised file type


I don't know how you must run via the command line.

I'm running Ubuntu 9.10 on a HP entertainment dv5.

Do I have to install some other tools ?

Kind regards,
Rinus
 
igor
#4 Print Post
Posted on 28-02-2010 18:13
User Avatar

Super Administrator

Posts: 220
Joined: 09.02.09

Hi Rinus!

Can you provide us this file? The possible problem cause is an old CDR version. Our CDR importer as in sK1 and in UniConvertor supports only 7-X3 versions. Early versions for Win 3.x (CorelDRAW ver.1-6) are not supported.
Regards,

Igor Novikov
sK1 Project
 
rinus
#5 Print Post
Posted on 28-02-2010 19:25
Member

Posts: 2
Joined: 28.02.10

unfortunate it's too large to import ( 23MB ).
It's a comic book of star wars and it's indeed not recently released.
So you could be right because the installation went perfect.
So there's no way I can open it with sk1 ?
Edited by rinus on 28-02-2010 19:25
 
igor
#6 Print Post
Posted on 28-02-2010 20:05
User Avatar

Super Administrator

Posts: 220
Joined: 09.02.09

Unfortunately we cannot help you with old CDR versions. May be we will improve importers later to support such features.
Regards,

Igor Novikov
sK1 Project
 
Jump to Forum: