sK1 Project :: OpenSource Solutions for Prepress
View Thread
 Print Thread
Advanced fill options?
starkraving2002
#1 Print Post
Posted on 28-03-2010 20:51
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 28.03.10

Recently switched to Linux full-time from Windows, looking for a CorelDRAW alternative and found this project. I see colour options for CMYK and RGB, which is great. I don't see an option for Pantone colours and I don't see an option to overprint fills and outlines, both of which are essential for prepress.

When I try to switch an object's colour from CMYK to 'spot' it doesn't select and stays CMYK. I've seen discussions on these features but if they're implemented I don't see where or how to use it. Any suggestions?
 
igor
#2 Print Post
Posted on 28-03-2010 22:15
User Avatar

Super Administrator

Posts: 220
Joined: 09.02.09

Hi,

On this moment you can fill objects by spot color only using palette. We cannot distribute Pantone palettes due to copyright restrictions. But you can try creating such palette using Fluorescent.skp palette file:

Download source  Code

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="utf-8"?>
<palette>
   <description type="SPOT-RGB" name="Fluorescent ink Palette" />
   <color r="0" g="1" b="0" name="Fluorescent Green" />
   <color r="1" g="1" b="0.25" name="Fluorescent Yellow" />
   <color r="1" g="0.44" b="0" name="Fluorescent Orange" />
   <color r="1" g="0" b="0" name="Fluorescent Red" />
   <color r="1" g="0" b="1" name="Fluorescent Magenta" />
   <color r="0" g="0.6" b="1" name="Fluorescent Blue" />
</palette>





<color> tag can contains cmyk values. In such case palette type should be "SPOT".
Although application can operates with spot colors, our pdf exporter is not ready for correct spot color output. I hope we will fix this issue in nearest releases.
Regards,

Igor Novikov
sK1 Project
Edited by igor on 28-03-2010 22:25
 
starkraving2002
#3 Print Post
Posted on 28-03-2010 23:47
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 28.03.10

Thanks for the quick reply Igor,

Do you have any instructions on how to get an object's fill or outline to 'overprint'?
 
igor
#4 Print Post
Posted on 29-03-2010 00:37
User Avatar

Super Administrator

Posts: 220
Joined: 09.02.09

Sorry we have no any instructions for overprint feature. The feature is scheduled for later releases.
Regards,

Igor Novikov
sK1 Project
 
starkraving2002
#5 Print Post
Posted on 29-03-2010 02:56
Member

Posts: 3
Joined: 28.03.10

Good to hear Igor, I'll be following the progress of this project. It's not quite ready for use as a professional 'prepress' design tool yet, but it's extremely promising.

Thanks for all you and the rest of your team are doing in this category of programs.
 
Jump to Forum: